what are my front fender options

DSN_KLR650
rschulte46

shifter /shifting

Post by rschulte46 » Thu Jul 06, 2006 11:40 pm

Ok I'm new to KLR's but I have not seen any posts concerning shifting abnormalities. Here is what happens to me all too often, and what I have done about it to minimize the impact. ================================= THIS HAPPENS: Sometimes if I come to a stop and don't downshift through all the gears, I don't wind up in first. I think I'm there, but I am in second and always stall when I try to take off. In traffic this is not fun, and once starting off on a hilly turn out of a field, I almost dropped the bike (still a virgin). I get around this by downshifting through each gear in turn routinely. Is this something that is common? ================================== THIS ALSO HAPPENS: When I take off from a light sometimes I can't get into 3rd. or maybe 4th. It stays in the used up gear, jurks me to attention as I realize that I missed a shift and I have to re-shift...it usually works on the second try. I may not be upshifting correctly however...when I put pressure up on the shifter before I squeeze the clutch, the gear falls right in. When I squeeze the clutch and then lift the shifter the problem shows up sometimes. Any thoughts? Bob in CT.

revmaaatin

shifter /shifting

Post by revmaaatin » Fri Jul 07, 2006 1:44 am

--- In DSN_KLR650@yahoogroups.com, "rschulte46" wrote:
> > Ok I'm new to KLR's but I have not seen any posts concerning
shifting