nklr protest site

DSN_KLR650
Andrus Chesley

sticking clutch

Post by Andrus Chesley » Fri Mar 16, 2001 3:49 am

Yes , it's an old thingy on this list. Simple solution also. When yu get ready to leave, pull in the clutch lever, blap the throttle a few times, then put it in gear. 99% of the time it breaks the plates loose and lets the engaugement go smooth. Andy Cajun Country

rfcullison

sticking clutch

Post by rfcullison » Tue Nov 26, 2002 7:43 pm

rfcullison

sticking clutch

Post by rfcullison » Tue Nov 26, 2002 7:47 pm

I am fairly new to the KLR having only had mime about two months, but I have seen a number of references to the sticking clutch as being a normal product of a wet clutch. In all of the other bikes I have owned, I have never had one which bound the clutch up so bad that it lurched forward two feet when I tried to start it in first gear. I know the Honda Hawk GT I have has never reacted in this way. I am wondering, do the members of the list really think this is a normal occurance or is it something that happens more severely with the KLR?

JJNeet1@aol.com

sticking clutch

Post by JJNeet1@aol.com » Tue Nov 26, 2002 8:21 pm

I have the same problem with my 2001 KLR250.Literally every time I let it sit overnight or longer,the clutch disks will stick when I first start it up.I have got in the habit of,before I start it,putting it in first gear and letting the cluth out and sitting on the seat and rolling the bike forward and backward until they unstick.Usually two to four times will do it. Jon Neet

rfcullison

sticking clutch

Post by rfcullison » Tue Nov 26, 2002 8:35 pm